garden catchup

It’s been a while since my last post and I had a few things I wanted to write about. So here’s the first one..

Garden progress.

nice fresh broccoli


Broccoli is well in season at our house. I cut off a head the other night and simply steamed it with some cauliflower (shop brought, unfortunatly) and ate it with some turkey burgers which I will post my recipie for. Gary loves them! Personally I love steaming veggies… They look so bright and fresh, and all the goodness stays in them.

See what I mean? delicious!

Plus, if you cook them just enough but not too much, they are so lovely and crunchy … mmmmmmmm……

parsley, rhubarb and broccoli, all waiting to be nommed.

I also cut some rhubarb. Not sure if it’s supposed to be cut in winter or if that’s a no-no, but I looked at it and really felt like a rhubarb crumble. I only cut enough to make a small amount. wash, chop, and boil in a small amount of water with some sugar. Once it was nicely stewed, with a few chunks remaining but mostly broken down, I put the rhubarb into two ramekins. I then topped with a mix of equal part flour, oats, and coconut, with a tablespoon or so of sugar, mixed with enough melted butter and honey to make a nice crumble. Then I baked it (on a tray, in case it bubbled over) for 10-15 mins at 180 degrees.

I ate it before I got a picture though. So you will just have to imagine it.

cabbage, cauliflower, brussel sprouts and bok choy

Our back garden is growing some Cauliflower, cabbage, more broccoli, brussel sprouts and bok choy. This one was not particularly productive last year, because we were late putting them in and they all went to seed before producing anything useful. Hopefully we got them in before it was too late this year.

Today we added some more seedlings:

Wom Bok

Decided I wanted to try some chinese cabbage in some cooking, so Gary brought it for me.

Kale

Also on my “I wonder what it would be like to cook with” mood, we brought some Kale. I’ve never used it before so I figured why not? Gary put it in the garden for me today.

potatoes

And finally, we pulled some potatoes out of the potato bags today. Again, we planted them in the wrong season, but we seem to have grown a few, instead of lots so we still get food out of them.
And in there, we found this little guy:

2 thoughts on “garden catchup

  1. we really had no idea if our potatoes were going to work or not. They were sprouting in the bottom of our pantry so we threw them in grow bags, waited for the tops to die off, and then opened up the bags to find success! Feels good to harvest your own food!

Leave a Reply

