A trip to Bright…

It’s been a while since I last posted. Lately I haven’t had the energy for it – Work has been hectic and by the time I come home and try and tackle some housework I have neither the energy or the time.

But on the weekend just gone, I asked Gary if we could go away for the day. We settled on a drive up to Bright for lunch. Bright is about an hour, hour and a half from us and it is up towards the hills. I remember trips there with Dad when we were young to head up Mount Buffalo, as well as school trips to the area.

It was a beautiful day for a drive – crisp and clear and sunny.

We got a few glimpses of the snowfields in the distance along the way.

Snow! It’s far off but it’s there.

We caught the dregs of the market. Apparently it finishes up at lunchtime. But the plant stall we saw at the June Long weekend markets in Rutherglen were there, and Gary took the opportunity to update them on the berry plants we brought last time and he also brought some Lebanese Cress. I eyed off the Cardamom plant again, however I again wavered as I’m not sure where I’d put it. We keep running into these guys and they are a local business so once I work out where to put the Cardamom I can chase them up again.

Let me explain something important: I love eating fresh trout. It is delicious, and I take delight in the process of carefully getting the pieces of flesh off the bones. I savour every mouthful. So when I saw “fresh baked trout with Horseradish and dill cream” on the menu of a cafe, I knew where we were having lunch and what I was ordering.

Gary ordered it too. It was as delicious as I hoped. And the skin was super crispy, the salad was light and a perfect complement. The dill cream and the horseradish gave it the extra burst of flavour, and I loved it.

delicious, crispy skinned, perfectly cooked trout.

Gary wanted some juice with his meal, but couldn’t decide what combination of fruit to have. So he ordered “everything juice”, which was literally a bit of everything. It was quite nice.

this is what “everything” juice looks like

After Lunch we had a wander about and looked in a few shops. I brought a lovely little Owl tealight holder, which I may take a photo of later (if I remember). It was a really nice day and it was pleasant to wander about the town. Bright is a place for tourists, in all seasons, due to the access it has to the mountains. In the spring and summer there is a lot of bushwalking around, in Autumn it’s beautiful as there are many deciduous trees and Bright turns a beautiful burst of gold, orange, and red. In winter it’s a lovely place to be a base for the snowfields.

the centre of town

On the way back we swung by the walnut farm. There was nobody in the shop, but there was an Honesty Box, so we grabbed a mixed bag (walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts), a bag of walnuts, and a bag of hazelnuts. We’ve been making our way through them slowly with a nutcracker and a bit of excitement. For me, food that takes a bit of process is always good. I think I get enjoyment out of the process of preparing food, whether it’s cracking nuts or peeling prawns or slow-roasting tomatoes.

We stopped by some cows…

they were confused as to why we were interrupting their grazing

…to take a photo of what we called “Titan’s Hill” because we imagined the rocks as a giant’s hand reaching up out of the hill. We decided a giant was buried under there and is forever trapped, reaching up towards freedom but never getting enough of a grip to free himself.

see the fingers reaching up?

All in all, it was a good day out with my wonderful boyfriend, driving through some beautiful scenery and eating some delicious trout. A lovely saturday indeed.

2 thoughts on “A trip to Bright…

Leave a Reply

