Ding! Level up!

Ok so on occasion I declare myself to be a “food wizard.” Generally I consider myself at least a level 10. Yesterday I believe I leveled up. (Yes I play Dungeons and Dragons and regularly refer to it in my everyday life. For anyone who knows me well this should not come as a shock). 

 

I made my own pasta! Now this may seem like a small task, but it was the first time I have made it, and it was perfect. I used this recipe which I googled (because Google knows everything). The only change I made was I used 4 eggs. When I started making the dough it seemed a little too dry, so I cracked another egg straight onto it, creating a huge mess which eventually came together. I think I might have kneaded the dough for about 12 mins or so until it got all nice and elasticy. Yes I think I just made up a word. No I’m not going to apologise for that. 

Honestly the most difficult thing was rolling it through the pasta machine, because it takes 1 hand to feed the dough in, 1 to catch it, and 1 to turn it. 

I don’t have that many hands.

Somehow, however, I managed and hung it up to dry over my giant cooking chopsticks balanced over my big stockpot, as well as some hung off a clean coat hanger because I was running out of space. 

I whipped up a bit of a carbonara sauce, using evaporated milk and eggs. I cooked some bacon, mushrooms, and chopped asparagus, heated the sauce, and tossed that all together to warm the sauce through (with a good sprinkle of cracked pepper and a dash of chili flakes) while the pasta cooked. Fresh pasta only takes a couple of minutes to cook – I reckon it was about 5 minutes for mine (fettucini cut) 

then the pasta went into the bowls, topped with the sauce, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. 

It was pretty good. I’ll make sure to take decent photos next time and do a proper post about it, but for the time being you’ll have to make do with imagining me with an apron getting my hands stuck into a pile of flour and eggs on a kitchen bench. 

 

Ding! level 11. Acquired new spell: Summon Greater Pasta. Earn Feat: extra hand.  

One thought on “Ding! Level up!

  1. Sounds delicious! (I think I made some kind of pasta quite a few years ago for some butternut squash ravioli. I didn’t have one of those pasta makers/machines so I had to roll it out manually. It was hard work but tasty.)

Leave a Reply

