Beef jerky recipe.

Posting this from my iPhone because I can. Also because that’s where my photo is. I made beef Jerky over the past day.

I have a dehydrator. It calls itself a “Sunbeam healthy food dryer” but I know what it really is. And that is a source of delicious foodstuffs.

There are quite a few different dehydrators out there. Mine is basic. It has no temperature or time settings, just an on-off switch. It also cost $20 at the op shop (second hand shop) and my mum brought it for me so in the end it cost me nothing.

I made beef jerky by getting some beef (I cheated and brought schnitzel beef as its already thin). You can also buy a larger piece of steak and slice it very thin – apparently it’s easier to slice if it’s half frozen.

Anyhow with the schnitzel pieces I pounded them with a meat tenderizer just to thin them out a little more and then sliced strips, maybe about a cm or two wide. Cut out any particularly fatty bits: the fat won’t dehydrate and if you’re storing it for more than a day or so it will go rancid.

Then I marinaded them in a mix made of
4 garlic cloves
1 tbsp ginger root
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon peppercorns
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 tablespoon (homemade) tomato sauce
4 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
4 tablespoons soy sauce.

I pound the garlic, ginger, salt and pepper in my mortar an pestle, then add the rest of the ingredients. Then I thoroughly mix the marinade with the beef strips with the marinade ad leave, covered, in the fridge overnight to cure.

Then I just lay them out on the trays, no strips touching, and dehydrate in an uninterrupted session. Generally about 8 hours does it with mine. It depends on humidity, room temperature, how thick your slices are etc.

When they are ready, you should be just able to bend a cool piece without it snapping and crumbling. You want it dry, but still chewy. Unless you want it crunchy. Personal taste is best.

Keep in mind it will keep in the pantry for a week or so (if it’s my house it will be eaten long before the week is up). Any longer than that it should be kept in the fridge. Either way it needs to be kept in an airtight container.

Also, credit to my mum and stepdad, who passed the recipe to me.

20120904-175505.jpg

2 thoughts on “Beef jerky recipe.

    • How do you keep your tomatoes once they’re dried? I have some I put in oil and keep in the fridge as I wasn’t sure of the shelf life with just olive oil. I also dried some cherry tomatoes and just put them in ziplock bags in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

