Delicious roast lamb and also pumpkin seeds

I made a roast lamb on the weekend. It was very delicious.

Ingredients:
Rolled shoulder roast lamb
Some garlic cloves (I think I used about 5 for this one)
1 bunch fresh rosmary
salt
pepper
olive oil.

First, I brought a rolled shoulder roast. I turned on all four burners of the BBQ and put the hood down to heat it up.

Then I took the lamb and used the technique I always use with a roast lamb: I cut slivers of garlic from a couple of cloves, pierced the lamb all over with a thin knife, and pushed the garlic into the slits. Not only does this impart a lovely flavor to the lamb, but it also means that when you slice it, you get chunks of garlic embedded in the meat.

then for the coating:
I crushed the remaining cloves of garlic in my mortar and pestle, adding some rosemary leaves (saving 2 sprigs for decoration), rock salt, and a few twists of pepper. I ground that up to make a rough paste, then added enough (extra virgin) olive oil.

I rubbed that all over the lamb, and then pushed the two sprigs of rosemary under the strings. This would be optional for roasts that don’t have string though.

I then put it in a rack, in the baking dish for the BBQ – a BBQ roast works with indirect heat, rather than being directly on the burners. I sat it in the middle, and turned down the burners directly below it. I cooked it for about half an hour per 500gm as we like our lamb well done. I try and keep the guage at about a medium level – around 160 degrees C.

For the last hour I covered it with foil and it was deliciously moist when done.

here’s how it looked when I pulled it from the BBQ:

rosemary and garlic roast lamb.

I dished it up with a bunch of roast veg, including Beetroot and turnips fresh from the garden, and the pumpkin that we’ve had sitting in the bottom of the pantry all winter after we picked it from our autumn harvest.

Tonight I roasted the pumpkin seeds. I used this recipe for the tip on boiling first. I boiled them in the salted water for 10 minutes. Then I tossed them with olive oil and a cajun spice mix. A quick toast in the oven at 200 degrees C for about 15 minutes until they started popping, and they are done!

Also, I’m amazed at how long my hair is getting!

Leave a Reply

