Vegan deliciousness.

I’ve found our options a little limited this weekend, with three meals being eaten out with friends and/or family. On Saturday we had my sister’s birthday lunch, and pretty much our only choice on the menu was felafel wraps minus the tzatziki (is that how you spell it?).

Saturday night my brother Scott and my sister in law Lotta came round and we wandered down to the Wodonga Carnivale to see what there was to see. Needless to say pretty much all the foot stalls were sausages… Or pizzas… Or some variation of meat and cheese. So we headed down to the Thai restaurant where you can order a vegan version of most things. Pad Thai with ended up being the go for the night.

Sunday lunch was the biggest challenge, with the only vegetarian meal at the place we went being a very cheesy premade veggie lasagne. So we asked for a plate of veggies and some chips, and that got is by.

I think there’s a pretty good range of vegetarian around, but not so much vegan. There’s a place near our house that has some great meals you can veganise though so I think it’s a matter of picking where we eat. Thai and Indian also offer a great selection.

Anyhow, at lunch Sunday some of the guys has chocolate mousse, which i instantly had a craving for. So I took up the challenge and googled a few recipes. I made my own version from a compilation of a few, so here’s what I ended up with. It’s a base to work off. Gary loved it, but I want to try a few variations next time, maybe with a pinch of chili powder as I love chili and chocolate. I also think I should have put a touch if salt in it.

Delicious vegan dark chocolate avocado mousse

ingredients
2 ripe avocados
200 gms dark non-dairy chocolate
2 Tbsp coconut oil
4 Tbsp sweetener of choice (I used agave syrup)
1tsp vanilla extract.

method

In a microwave or double boiler, melt chocolate, coconut oil, sweetener, and vanilla.

Scoop avocado flesh into a blender or food processor (if its still a bit firm maybe mash it a little before putting it in the blender)

Pour in melted chocolate mix and blend or process till smooth.

It can be served immediately or chilled first.

I topped mine with crushed walnuts. Gary reckons its the best ever mousse, but I want to do a bit of experimenting. I think this would go well with the afore mentioned chilli. Other options might be cinnamon or nutmeg, or berries mixed through. Anything you’d do with normal mousse really.

If anyone has suggestions, let me know!

20130311-150825.jpg

edit, because people need to know this.

I had some leftover in the fridge the day after it was made. It’s so good fresh, even better chilled. When chilled it gets firmer, and the faint avocado taste is nearly gone. The second time round I dished up a few spoonfuls with some fresh raspberries and some organic cacao nibs. Tasty!!

One thought on “Vegan deliciousness.

Leave a Reply

