Two soups, both alike.

The title of my post sprung to mind in some ill fated attempt to sound poetic enough to do these recipes justice.

I have recently been desiring soup, which is maybe a result of the cooler weather anyhow I’ve made two delicious things lately that I wanted to share. They are both simple, made with good wholesome food, and absolutely delicious.

Roasted pumpkin soup with roasted pumpkin seeds

20130326-185720.jpg

over the years my pumpkin soup has expanded and expanded, including carrots, potato, sometimes sweet potato, and others all blended up. It became something that was no longer pumpkin soup, it was more a yummy mix of orange veggies all boiled together and then smooshed up.

This time I took it back to basics.

Oh my gosh.

I’ve never made roasted pumpkin soup before and it was amazing.

ingredients
1 butternut pumpkin (you could probably use other varieties too)
1 onion
A few cloves of garlic
Olive oil
Stock (I use a chicken flavored vegan stock powder)
Cayenne pepper (for the seeds)
Nutmeg (for the soup)
Salt and pepper.

cayenne pepper could be replaced by whatever you want to roast the seeds with. And for a different flavor, you could go paprika or cayenne in the soup

method
Heat oven to approx 180 degrees. That’s what it’s probably supposed to be. I put mine on 200 cos I’m a rebel.

Chop the pumpkin in half lengthways. I had to chop mine into halves across first so I ended up with quarters. If yours is small you won’t need to do this

Scoop out the seed section with a spoon. Don’t discard.

Brush the cut sides with olive oil and place cut side down on a tray or in a roasting pan and throw it in the oven.

Meanwhile chop your onions and garlic. It doesn’t have to be exact because it will all be blended or whizzed later anyway.

Seperate the seeds from the membrane and wash them. Boil them in strongly salted water for 10 minutes then drain and dry thoroughly. This step makes the outer shell more edible.

Let the pumpkin bake until it is tender through (metal skewers are so handy in my kitchen!!) remove from oven and let cool till you can handle it. Turn the oven down to 180 if you had it up high before like I did.

Meanwhile take your washed and dried seeds, coat lightly in a little olive oil, and season with salt, pepper, and cayenne. Spread them out in a single layer on a tray and roast them in the oven. They shouldn’t take long, maybe 15 minutes. Check then regularly. If they start popping and jumping all over your oven, they’re done and need to be removed from the oven.

Scoop the pumpkin flesh out of the skin.

Sautéed the onion and garlic until it starts to caramelise then dump the pumpkin flesh in. Top with enough stock to allow it to blend (I used my stick mixer, but a blender would work too. Or just smoosh it with a spoon and have chunky soup.

Season with some salt and pepper, add some nutmeg to taste, and serve topped with the toasted seeds.

Tell me that’s not amazing.

And now for my next trick….

potato, butter bean, and sweet corn soup

20130326-191401.jpg

This was inspired by the corn we harvested from the garden. Our first ears off the current crop…. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted corn so delicious! It was juicy and sweet and oh so good we started eating it raw and it nearly didn’t make it to the kitchen. Delicious fresh corn like that shouldn’t be boiled for too long, so I threw it in for the last minute or so just to heat through. If you have older corn (from a supermarket) or a can of corn you can let it cook longer.

ingredients

Potatoes
3 ears of corn (or is it cobs? Are those words interchangeable for corn?)
OR 1-2 cans of corn kernels.
Chili peppers, fresh or dried, to taste
Olive oil
Spring Onion
Garlic
Celery
Stock – I used chicken flavored vegan stock again.
A can of butter beans.
Salt and pepper
Fresh parsley

optional extras
I also threw in some chopped runner beans that were ready in the garden – anything that is solid like carrots or even capsicum could also be thrown in. I would do this at the onion/garlic stage. The beans went in later because I wanted them to be crunchy. Be creative!!!

method
Chop spring onion and garlic, and slice the celery.

Prepare potatoes by cutting them into 1cm ish cubes. I usually leave the skins on my potatoes jf they are clean enough but you can peel them if you want.

Also get 3-4 cups of stock ready

Throw the spring onions, garlic, chopped chili and celery into a pot with some olive oil and cook until translucent. Add the potatoes and sweat for a minute or so. Add the stock to cover, and allow to boil until the potatoes are tender.

Meanwhile, if using fresh cobs/ears/whatever, use a knife to slice the kernels off. Collect them in a bowl and save until the last few minutes.

This is the point where I threw in the green beans and the butter beans (drained)

When everything is nearly ready, throw in the corn kernels and some chopped parsley. Season to taste with salt and pepper. If you want to go wild, throw in a splash of soy sauce – but definitely be careful you don’t overdo it.

Serve with some nice crusty bread and enjoy.

Speaking of delicious bread, I’m pretty sure this has some sort of addictive drug in it.

20130326-193112.jpg

It’s a pumpkin sourdough, made from my new best friend’s bakery. I say best friend because of this bread. It has a nice thick crust, but its light and soft inside. There’s pepitas through it, and its made old school style with no sugars or additives. The pumpkin gives it a slight sweetness and the sourdough taste underlines all of that awesomeness. We went through two loaves in two days. I’ve had to force myself not to go back yet because if I did I would eat this all day every day.

it is just that good.

Leave a Reply

