Pumpkin “cheese” sauce: a revelation

Yesterday I was craving corn chips. So I decided to make nachos for dinner. However I also wanted to use some more of the pumpkin we have sitting job our dining room waiting to be eaten.

So I googled “pumpkin nachos” (thinking it was a crazy idea), put some ideas together, and ended up with the most delicious vegan “cheese” sauce I’ve ever tasted. The pumpkin is blended into the sauce, rather than cooked with the beans as I had expected.

I posted a photo on facebook, and although the photo was anything but flattering I had a few requests for the recipe. So I figured a blog post would help.

So here we go…

You need the following:

About 1 1/2 cups of plain soy milk (unsweetened)
1 Tbsp dairy free spread/margarine
1 Tbsp corn flour
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/3 cup of nutritional yeast*
2 tsp Dijon mustard
Salt and pepper
Pinch of dried thyme
About 1 1/2 cup roasted pumpkin.

How to make:
Melt the spread/butter in a pan.

Take off the heat and mix in the cornflour till smooth.

Gradually whisk in the soy milk and place back onto the heat. Once it’s all in, add everything else except the pumpkin. And whisk to mix well.

Let it thicken for a few minutes, stirring it to keep it from forming lumps.

Let it cool enough to throw in a blender (if you have a stick mixer that would cut out the cooling step).

Blend the sauce with the pumpkin.

I’ve used it on nachos this time but I reckon it would be awesome in pasta or on a veggie lasagne. I also couldn’t stop dipping corn chips into the cold leftover sauce.

20130910-173551.jpg

The photo isn’t great here. I made a basic bean mix with garlic, onion, cumin, chili, kidney beans and tomatoes. I layered the chips, beans and cheese, adding some chopped avocado as well and some vegan sour cream.

So enjoy!

* nutritional yeast can be found in most health food stores. It is (from what I know about it) basically an inactive form of yeast which provides a nutty/cheesy kind if taste to vegan food. It’s also usually fairly heavily fortified with B vitamins, particualrly vitamin B12. B12 is the only nutrient which is difficult to get on a vegan diet without supplements or fortified foods.

Leave a Reply

