Christmas has come early.

I went and got my Christmas present today.

Gary out some money in for a new bike because I’ve been complaining that mine is old, heavy, and the gears and brakes need replacing. It’s more of a mountian bike style, so it’s much more solid and heavier. It was a second hand bike that was given to me a few years ago. It’s served me well, but I was looking for something a little more suited to my fitness goals.

I wanted a road bike, but not a super fancy racing style bike. After a few hours at the bike shop, and trying a bike out with different sized parts on it, I settled on this one

It’s light. It’s fast – much less effort to get up to (and maintain) speed. And it feels good to ride. I immediately rode it home while Gary drove back. Then we went for a 20km ride, over a variety of road, gravel, and bike path surfaces. One of the great things about living in Wodonga is the large number of bike paths and/or bike lanes on the roads. Plenty of paths to zip along on my shiny new bike! I’m glad I picked the one I did and I’m very happy with how she rides. Just need to pick a name for her.

I don’t have any photos but I will try and get some tomorrow. And starting Monday I’m getting back into running training which will be supplemented with cycling for endurance and cross training.

Super excited!

Leave a Reply

